Do you believe you can only wear a stone for a short period of time?

Labhraín

Do you believe that a stone can only be worn for a certain amount of time or for short periods? I had posted a thread a while back specifically asking about emerald, http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=149161&highlight=time, but now I'd like to expand the question to all stones and crystals.

Someone had recommended to me tourmalinated quartz a while back in another thread. I was looking at one of my favorite crystal sites today, and it says that it should only be used for short periods.

Another example of this is that "The Encyclopedia of Crystals" by Judy Hall says that red stones are for short term use, as they are strong.

How does this apply to the world of stones and crystals at large?

AJ

I've been wearing my jade ring for over three years. Can't imagine taking it off.

Catmoon

I'm using a White Opala for over 15 years non stop, no harm done so far LOL
And my oldest son was 3 years old when he wore a tiger eye on his neck for 2 years, and his respiratory problemes reduced enought to medication make it's job decreasing allergies, tonsils and adenoids surgery was canceled.
He was a strong baby scorpion with strong temper but never the less...
So I can't be against on long term use on stones, but it depends on the balance of energy of the user... I gess...

greatdane

Maybe some stones grow stronger?

as Catmoon mentioned, I would think would depend on the energy of the user. I think of wearing or being around certain stones as a kind of symbiotic relationship from the owner of the stone and the stone. Like feeding back and forth from each other. I do cleanse some stones periodically, like a piece of quartz crystal (which is why I LOVE quartz crystal clusters, not only for their beauty, but they never have to be cleansed, they're kind of like a self-cleaning oven!).

shelikes2read