Quite a stupid Question

Shapeshifter

Can someone plz tell me if RWS and thoth meanings are the same?

I cant really see much stuff from Thoth, everything seems to be so messy........ but i really would like to have a go.

Scorpion

Shapeshifter,

I'm not an expert on the Thoth by any means - I've got the deck but keep putting off my in-depth study of it in favour of others! My understanding is that they are similar but subtly different. However, I'm sure the many Thoth admirers and experts out there will put us both straight.

What I would say is - don't worry about the fact that you can't get much from the Thoth. I think that's why the RWS and its clones are so popular: it seems to be much easier for many of us to pick things up from them. It can be so much clearer when we've got a straight image of people doing things and interacting. The Thoth can seem very confusing. I have the de luxe version on order which ought to have clearer brighter colouring and I'm hoping that will help me with this deck. There is also a new book out which I believe Holmes has reviewed in the "Media" section which the jacket blurb said makes the Thoth accessible to all - you might want to see if Holmes agrees with them.

Edited to add: It's not a stupid question - you can ask anything at all and we'll do our best to answer.

HudsonGray

From what I understand, there are 3 styles of tarot--the original marsailles, the Thoth & the Rider Waite. Each has clones, and the clones generally follow the deck that is standard for them, but there's variations all over the place. Most of the books you can find are done for the Rider Waite. To understand the Thoth, look for books specifically naming the Thoth deck in the title.

Rusty Neon

Shapeshifter said:

Shapeshifter,

Good question!

There are certainly differences in symbolism and philosophy between the RWS and Thoth cards.