Spread about sexual orientation

TinaV

Ok, this may be a stretch but a concerned friend of mine has reached out to me because she is worried about her son. He is in his late twenties and she thinks he might be gay. He has been depressed, not knowing what to do with himself and in and out of relationships. He does have a good job but his obsession with his career seems to get the best of him since he neglects his personal life. She was wondering if the tarot could help figure out if he might be gay but too afraid to come out. She wants to clear any issues he might have.

I'm quite new to this and I'm not sure if someone's sexual orientation is a question that can be asked.

Does anyone know a spread that could be helpful in this situation?

Sulis

Whether he is gay or not is his business and he may not even be sure of that himself at this time. When he feels he's ready for her to know, he'll tell her but until then, I think she should just focus on whether she can help him with his depression so if it were me, I'd advise her to just ask something like 'How can I help my son?' and just lay out 3 cards with either no positions or since you're a beginner and positional meanings are really helpful:
1. Situation
2. Advice for her
3. Probable outcome.

Or:
1. Her son
2. What she can do to help
3. What she shouldn't do
4. Probable outcome (or leave this one out).

I hope that helps.

Sulis

Just to add: Even if he is gay and hasn't told her, that may not be why he's showing signs of depression so she should really be focusing on that and not on his sexual orientation. If she wants to know whether or not he's gay, maybe she should just ask him.
If she doesn't feel comfortable doing that then doing a reading about it, isn't really fair on him and I'd go so far as to say it's intrusive.