Searching for book information

keninmaine

Hello,

I am fairly new to the tarot and have been perusing a lot of books for beginners. A few days ago, I read the back cover of a book that featured a learning outline that I liked. The author's method was to learn the minor arcana first, one suit at a time. When one suit was learned, you practiced reading with just that one suit before moving on to the next suit (I imagine the one-suit readings were with small spreads of two or three cards). After making your way through the minors, you went on to the major arcana. This method seemed to make sense to me, but at the time I did not take down the name of the book or its author. And upon returning to the store I was unable to find it. Does this book sound familiar to anyone? I'd greatly appreciate any help in tracking it down. Thanks in advance for your assistance!

Ken

keninmaine

Found it!

The book I was searching for was the Beginner's Guide to Tarot by Juliette Sharman-Burke, which I think is part of a book/deck set. I am not sure that I need another deck right now, so I may skip this. Has anyone used this book as a starting point and found it especially helpful?

rwcarter

Welcome to Aeclectic, keninmaine!

You can likely find the book by itself in used bookstores (which often won't take the decks but will take the books) or through online sources like abebooks or amazon resellers. Just be sure the listing says something like "book only, no cards included".

Rodney

Ruby Jewel

The book I was searching for was the Beginner's Guide to Tarot by Juliette Sharman-Burke, which I think is part of a book/deck set. I am not sure that I need another deck right now, so I may skip this. Has anyone used this book as a starting point and found it especially helpful?