For Professional Readers

Life_Vibrantly

Hi everybody,

I'm a professional Tarot reader. I make a good living and enjoy what I do. However, for personal reasons I don't want everybody to know what I do for a living.
To Professional Readers: when acquaintances ask what you do for a living what do you say? I sometimes say "Consultant" or "Independent Contractor". But then they usually want me to give more details.

Any help would be appreciated!

DaughterOfDanu

I use "Intuitive consultant" but I've seen plenty of people use the term life coach. I just explain to those who are curious that I am a consultant who helps my clients see their options and form ways to achieve their goals.

zannamarie

I sometimes say "Consultant" or "Independent Contractor". But then they usually want me to give more details.
But that doesn't mean you have to give them more details.

Just politely say you are not looking for additional business and you like to keep your professional and personal life separate. Then move the conversation on to another topic. :)

AnemoneRosie

I go to school, and read to help pay the bills. I just tell them I'm a student and talk about my studies.
I realize that that's not at all helpful for you, and that I too will soon need to find an answer to this question. For now, though, it works for me.

Barleywine

I just say "I'm retired," which leads off into "Oh, what did you used to do?" and away from more delicate questions. When it somes back around to "What do you do all day?" I either say "Whatever I want" (well, in truth I point to my wife and say "Whatever she wants . . .") or make up some generic bs. I'm still waiting for the day when someone I know shows up for a reading. That should be fun.

Ace

I tell them I am an entertainer. Which I am. Of course, then they want to know more, but they asked for it, so they get it. And yes, some have actually inched away from me, but I won't (and DON'T apologize) for what I do. I am what I am.