Trouble breaking into my spiritual self-how to become spiritual

grubbaj0

I've been practicing tarot for a few months now yet I feel like a lack of spirituality is stopping me from having true connections. I grew up as a protestant christian, which is so in your face. I always tried believing but always had trouble. Now any time I see anything religious my initial reaction is eye roll followed by slight guilt of not being open minded. I want to connect more to my spiritual self outside of religion. I'm not opposed to religion and even hope to move in that direction one day but right now I want to focus on personal spirituality. Has anyone else had this problem? Where you were open to spirituality but something inside you continued to resist. What did you do to get past it? I would love any advice or recommendations to articles, books, paths. Thank you very much for your support!

AJ

I had to get to know myself before I could recognize or embrace spirit.
I wasn't looking to identify any true spirit as opposed to a religion built by men, it just happened.

I think doing a gratitude journal for three years helped.
Julia Cameron's workbooks helped me grow.
Blogging my card of the day doubtless helped, it always brings something out of the mud I need to deal with.

Along the way I studied various beliefs. I expect as you grow you will do the same, I see it here all the time. If we've held a mindset, the first thing we do is look for a new mindset. When I got over the requirement to fill one void with another, I began to come into my own space.

Don't push it, that would probably give you hives :)

welcome to AT, if I haven't already said it.

BodhiSeed