Gothic Tarot of the Vampires- 2 the High priestess

Magi

This card shows a kindred with cut wrists & blood on her mouth. She knows full well of the thirst, & the power in the blood. She is old, more than likley an elder that teaches the young ones. She looks as if she has just finished a ritual blood bond that is needed to teach the stronger powers to the neonates. This is a nesisary iniation in the kinderd world, one must be devoted in order to learn.

annik

Is she the initiated or the initiate? There is mystery. The sight of blood is surely tempting for a vampire. Only the woman knows what really happening, the situation and the context.

Ceit

The Gothic tarot of Vampires – II The High Priestess

The Gothic tarot of Vampires – II The High Priestess

The High Priestess –

I really didn’t understand this card until I studied it. I didn’t get the woman with her wrist slashed. This is one of those major cards in this deck that you have to question several times before you get the answer. I would like to share with you my thoughts.

A woman possibly a vampire, since this is a vampire tarot can we make an assumption that she is a vampire, especially since she has blood dripping down her mouth. If you aren’t a vampire would you drink blood?

The woman/vampire is comfortable in a winged back chair. She is a little forward with her extended arm over a table, perhaps to drain her slashed wrist into an awaiting cup. Both hands are clenched – Is this to increase blood flow, so that her wounds could flow quicker?

There are two cups full of blood (the cups are bloodied) with a knife between them. Who is the second one for? And why not drink it from the source. Is she offering her Blood in exchange, so that she is on equal footing to the person that she is waiting for or who just visited her.

The woman is dressed very casual, jeans, shirt, and sweat jacket.

The LWB says:

“Temptation – Limit, invitation, offer of immortality and knowledge.”