how to smudge?

sagewriter

Hey there, I have already searched this topic, but being a complete beginner I still need a bit of help!

I have just bought my first sage smudge stick, yay me! But don't know how to do it. I have searched google but there are so many methods?

Some say you need to put it in a bowl and use a feather to waft the smoke?

I assumed I just held it, lit it, and waved it around? I guess I'll need a plate to catch the ashes!

What is the best method please? Thank you!

catlin

Ok, there are various ways how to smudge. One way is - as you already did it - light the bundle and fan either with a feather or a fan the smoke through your deck or in the room.

Another way is - this is what I prefer - to buy a special burner with a small grate (do you call it like this in English?) and place a votive candle below (make sure the difference between candle and grate is at least 10 cm!), place the incense on the grate and light the candle. After about 10 min a wonderful soft smoke will arise (this is the nicest way to smudge because incense will not smell like burned rubber as it may happen on charcoal. Besides you only need very little incense or herbs (3 grains of incense usually last up to 2 weeks on my burner).

Third way is to put a good deal of sand into a fireproof bowl and put a piece of special smudging charcoal on it. Light the charcoal, wait until it is covered with ash and then place the incense on top of the charcoal. Be careful, the charcoal will be up to 800°C !

Milfoil

Hello Sagewriter

I'm glad you asked this as I wasn't sure either. I have sage growing in my garden and I guess now would be the right time to gather some for smudge sticks.