Tarot of Dreams, Gilded Tarot & other decks

Briar Rose

Sharpchic

What do you think of the deck, The Tarot of Dreams? and The Gilded Tarot?
Have you seen the Archeon Tarot cards? I was thinking of buying the Osho deck. well, get back to me when you can.

sharpchick

Haven't used any of those, Heavens. . . sorry. . .

The decks I have are on my profile, as well as those on my wishlist.

euripides

I think its in the 06 Llewellen Tarot Reader Almanac that I have somewhere, though I might have read it online (sorry, I can't remember) - about someone tarot journalling - this student who showed the teacher his work, and it made a great impace on her - he'd drawn the card spread in the journal, but without borders, and let the images blend into one another. Fascinating idea I thought. As an artist, I should give it a go.

Mostly at the moment I draw rectangles for the cards and jot down the names and some key points. I also make notes from things I'm reading or scribble down ideas. Its all very rough - its recording information, not art. I'd love it to be more artistic.

I try to record everything, because the one time I don't, I think, a week later, 'didn't I draw some cards about this....?'

I've seen it suggested to draw a card a day and study that one card. If you want to learn a new deck fast, you might want to work through each suit (or number? 4s, 5s..., kings, queens?) - methodically, four a day, two to a page or something. Make notes about your own responses to the image, then look it up in the little white book, and check the net - maybe Google it. There's some sites with really extensive notes on cards. I also like tarot.com's 'browse decks' facility to compare cards and decks.

http://www.tarot.com/about-tarot/decks/browsedecks.php

I used to covet the Marchetti tarots, but I'm not so sure at the moment. The New Palladini has just rocketed up my wishlist.

good luck with your new deck. Enjoy.

Helen

Briar Rose

Hi Helen