Making a Set of Runes

LTG2201

I am thinking about making myself a set of runes. Could you tell me what I need to do, what materials I need, how long it will take, etc?

I have a week coming up soon in which I will not be disturbed at all. I have a big pile of wood with which I can make them.

So, any advice will be greatly recieved.

Liam

doreen

pebbles

Hi There,
I made my first Rune set from pebbles I found on the beach, you know the small smooth ones.
I painted on the symbols with Tippex and then varnished them. I found the Tippex worked well and never chipped. Rune Stones you make yourself are special and have a powerful energy.
You can also make them from wood, by cutting circles and burning on the symbols, a bit fiddly for me I'm afraid.
I have to say the pebbles are nice as they all have different hues of colour and an ancient energy all of their own.
Good luck with your Runes
Doreen.

Milfoil

I'm really new to this so forgive me if I get it a little wrong but from what I have researched online, the following seems to have a bearing:

1)The type of wood you choose (yew, ash, oak etc) has an influence
2)Other traditional materials such as bone, horn or stone each have their own influence
3)Some take 24 days to make the 24 individual runes starting at a specific time in the lunar month
4)Several varied rituals surrounding the collection and making of runes
5)Use of red ochre or actual blood to colour and energise the runes

How influential the above are is not known to me as I have yet to make my own set or use runes but certainly if you search the net about rune making there is a lot of information out there.

Here is a search for some earlier threads discussing the subject

http://www.tarotforum.net/search.php?searchid=712143

Umbrae

Painted stones work just wonderful.

I've never ever blooded a set of Runes.

Never used Red Ochre...

used fingernail polish on a set that worked just fine...

I really think - you can make your own rules.

ShaktiOm