Shuffling:

Vessy

Hi people, this is my first post! first off would like to say hi, and secondly i had a question about how to shuffle tarot cards: is there any specific way to shuffle, because i am not sure if i should be attempting to create reversed cards or whether i should always attempt to not have them.... i typically use the begginers shuffle, but of the thickness of the cards making it difficult to preform a riffle. if you have any questions about what kinds of shuffles there are go to wikipedia and search shuffling (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shuffle)... thanks people
-VeSsY

StarUpInTheSky

Howdy, lol :grin:
I just shuffle any old way I want. It's up to you if how you want to shuffle and if you want to use reversals or not. I don't at the moment because I'm still learning and I don't want to burn myself out! :). As for your cards, you say they're thick. May be you could cut the deck down and shiffle differnt sections and then do one big shuffle at the end if possible. Just a suggestion. Anyways. Welcome to AT!
~*Mel*~

red11

Hey Vessy,
Welcome to AT! You'll love it here; everyone is so helpful :) Here is a huge index of questions about shuffling (just scroll down), should keep you busy for a couple of hours ;)
thread

Personally, a technique I use that works pretty well is to hold my deck in one hand, and use my thumb to push a few cards off of the top into my other hand, and then my pinkie fingers to push a few cards off of the bottom into my other hand, thus building a new deck in my other hand. I go through the deck until I feel it's time to stop. Feel free to experiment! The great thing about Tarot is that there is no "right way"; it's all about what feels comfortable to you.

Vessy

Thx

hey guys, thanks alot for the welcomming and for the tips.... im browsing through that link now... lots of good info....

SunChariot

Hi Vessy,