Haindl deck---tarot fabulous!!

Kingfish

I just viewed this deck, online, for the first time. Can't take my eyes off of it. I'm just blown away. I'll continue learning with the Rider-Waite I think, but I just found MY deck. The abstractons speak to me in away that more literal styles of representations do not. These images remind me of music (I'm a musician.) I'm especially impressed not only with the artwork, but with the whole cross-cultural/historical /spanning the ages thing that's going on. It's seems so timeless and universal to me. I just feel totally enveloped by,and engaged with each card. I'm attracted the darkness and the "gravity" of the cards which really intensifies the "lights" (can't help it---I'm a decendant of Russian actors--Ha!) I find this deck to be an inspired masterpiece--No kiddin'! Can't wait to get the deck, and the corresponding books by Rachel Pollack.

Grizabella

If you're used to RWS style decks, be aware that the Haindl is a Thoth-based deck. That threw me off with trying to use it when I had it because I didn't know that. :)

It's a very profound deck. Good luck with it. :)

raventepes

I love the Haindl. It was actually one of my first few decks. I don't know if you'd be too interested in it or not, but another good Thoth-type deck is the Quest. I will warn however that it's a bit complicated and over the top given NUMEROUS extras on the cards. Also the Quest is completely digital artwork.

HearthCricket

How exciting that you have found this lovely deck and enjoy it so much! The artwork really is lovely and at one point I put it far back in my drawer not expecting to use it for readings, but lately pulled it out, as my interest in Thoth inspired decks grew, and then proceeded to purchase the Haindl Rune Oracle, as well. Enjoy them!

Kingfish

Thanks all for your responses