4 of Cups - Medieval Scapini Tarot

BrightEye

I'm still learning this deck as it's very different I find. Any others more familiar with it, do you get a sense that the 4 of cups has aspects of emotional renewal (the two cicadas would point to that), intoxication (Eros and Silenus on the cups) as well as emotional stability (a more 'traditional' meaning)?

BrightEye

I know the Scapini is a somewhat obscure deck but there must be some opinions on the 4 of Cups in general. it came up in a reading today and seemed really positive. emotional stability?

Rusty Neon

What I especially like about the Medieval Scapini deck are the numbered minor arcana cards, where Scapini illustrates Etteilla (upright) and Golden Dawn divinatory meanings and introduces his variant meanings for uprights and reversals. Each such card generally illustrates a variety of positive and negative meanings.

The 4 of Cups is a 'negative' card in both Etteilla (upright) and Golden Dawn -- ennui, satiety, boredom -- which Scapini illustrates in his card. However, as indicated in the LWB (presumably written with Scapini's input) to the deck, there are the two cicadas, one grown (old) and one newly emerged. Presumably the grown cicada corresponds to the Etteilla and GD meanings. In the LWB, Scapini likens the newly emerged one to a deus ex machina. The reversed meanings given to the card by Scapini seem consistent with the newly emerged cicada: new possibilities, relationships, acquaintances, knowledge, and approaches. These reversed meanings would seem to be ones that Scapini invented as a positive counterpart to the negative upright meanings.

BrightEye

Thanks for replying Rusty Neon,
Rusty Neon said: