4 of Swords as Future/Outcome card

scholar

Hey,
Since the past couple of months, whenever I ask the tarot a question related to my job or career, I get the 4 of swords in either the outcome position, or advice, or possible future. What could this mean? (I usually use the Rider Waite pack).

The question I ask is about whether I should continue with my current job OR what should I do now that I'm a graduate?

It would be great if you could help me figure this out. I'm pretty confused!

Thanks!

-Scholar

Kaylee Marie

The four of swords is a very meditative card. Perhaps the answer to your question isn't the either/or situation you've phrased it as -- you need to look deeper and get to the heart of the situation. What do you really want/need at this point in your life? What will enable you to grow as a person? These are much more reflective questions than the mundane work v. school question.

Or maybe the cards are just saying that you have to figure this one out for yourself. :p The answers lie within you, not the cards. (I know, I know, blasphemy!!)

mythos

On the other hand, it could be telling you not to leave your current job without getting a new one or you could end up 'resting' when you don't want to ... i.e. unemployed. Or maybe you just need a holiday. Sometimes a break, in peace and quiet, can not only assist in relaxing enough to find the answer that is right in front of us, or to help us realise what it was about the job we have that interested us in the first place. It can refresh us.

I guess it depends on the rest of the cards in the reading, and how we decide to use the information in the reading.

mythos:)

Fulgour

dharma

Because of the monochromatic figure of the motionless Knight,
in contrast to the activity in the colourful stained glass window,
I sometimes think of the proverb about "faith without works"
when I look at the 4 of Swords by Pamela Colman Smith.

A Hindu proverb says:

"Philosophy without religion is mental speculation,