Base Cards, Clarifiers and Significators

natalie8

It seems like the more I try to find out about these on line, the more confused I get. I'm still new to Tarot and I'm teaching myself using the Rider Waite deck. I love it!

Quite often, when I read threads on here, people talk about a base card. What it this and how can I use it? Is this something more appropriate for more advanced readers?

Regarding clarifiers, I think I've figured out the basic meaning. For a question such as "Will I get a job in the next 2 months?" you might want to pull two cards in a row for your answer for an "expanded version" but even here, I'm still a bit lost.

I think I have the idea about significators. Say if I'm doing a reading on myself, I would choose a card that represents either my looks or personality, thinking the personality ones would be more fitting, going from another thread.

A question I have about this is, would this cloud my judgement if I use a significator with my own bias?

I'm really grateful for any replies that can guide me. In my opinion, coming from a newbie's point of view, I like to keep things simple at this point and not use any of these, but that's only to prevent any confusion.

I would like to learn how and when to use a base card in a reading.

Thanks!

Eyebright

I am relatively new to tarot too, and I also found these things confusing in the beginning! You certainly don't have to use any of them to get a great reading, some people however use them for various reasons and to enrich their reading.

The base card is the card at the bottom of the deck once you have shuffled and selected your cards. It is used to represent undercurrents in a situation, things you may not know, things that are hidden, or maybe something you know subconsciously about the situation. It adds an extra aspect to the reading, but isn't essential!