how can i tell if a court card is a person or situation?

mahimaisme

i've been learning to read the tarot for just about a month. i'm still learning keywords and trying to explore my own interpretations (not using them yet, tho! just exploring and getting to know my cards and my mind better! :)) and things....
i usually tend to take the presence of a court card or a major arcana card like the high priest/priestess, emperor, empress esp, as implying people. i know it does also imply a certain kind of situation but how would i know that in a reading?
i would love to get some feedback on this!
thank you.
mahima.

Amhran

For me, they are always people. But depending on the situation, it could be implying qualities a person has or might need to develop. I think you will only know when doing the reading. See how the story flows from one card to the next. Intuition will tell you. I hope that helps a little...

mahimaisme

thank you, amhran

i do tend to interpret them as people...most of the time...so i was just wondering...what if i'm telling someone its a person in your life and the guy attributes those qualities so someone he knows and its wrong!?

:s

mahima.

doreen

Court cards are difficult to get the hang of.
They can be people, messages, or aspects of one's personality.
You need to take the surrounding cards into consideration, and above all listen to your intuition.
I find in most cases they are aspects of the querents personality.
Just relax and listen to your inner voice and you won't go wrong.
Doreen

sharpchick

I generally view Kings and Queens as people. . . for me, knights (princes) and pages (princesses) can be people, or the traits of the card, as well as indications of messages or travel. When I draw a knight or a page in a position in a spred where it's not clear that it could be interpreted as being a person, I'll sometimes draw a clarifier for the knight or page. If I get another court card, then I interpret the knight or page as being a person.