Make your own LWB? Multiple?

Paign

Today I received the Witchy Tarot Deck, and I've heard the LWB that comes with it is rubbish. I've been thinking about doing a tarot journal with my own interpretations building from the basics. But, should I do one for each deck? like, the symbolism that varies between the decks seem like it would give them a slight variance in meanings.

So, I guess I'm wondering how I would go about making a LWB for myself and if it's necessary to make multiple ones for each deck regarding the symbols included?

rwcarter

Welcome to Aeclectic, Paign!

I do that when I'm studying a deck. I scan each of the cards in and attach each one to a separate page of a Word document. I'll add in any existing info from the LWB/companion book and then my own notes on imagery, research on symbols, sayings that symbols/images/card title may remind me of, etc. I've done these kind of electronic journals for the Mythic, the Navigators, the Ancient Egyptian and maybe a few others (that I can't remember right now).

Rodney

KristinCali

I just recently did exactly that! I didn't write one for each deck because my intention was to create an "all-purpose" reference book that I could use for any deck and wouldn't have to use 15 different books.

I pulled out all my decks and all their books and laid out the same card from every deck. I went through 1 card at a time, in order, and wrote down my first impression then referred to the books and wrote down bits and pieces that suited my feelings of the cards. I compared the similarities and differences between the cards. It ended up being a paragraph or two for each one.

I hand wrote all this info in a journal and it took me a few weeks and it was SO worth it! I reconnected with my cards and it helped me learn and memorize them better.

PS- It will not be a "LITTLE white book" when you're done, hahaha

emmsma