Mary Greer's Books: Which To Read First?

Alamaris

Tarot For Yourself and 21 Ways To Read a Tarot Card came in the mail yesterday, but I've put off starting either of them because I'm not sure which is the best to start first. I'm nearly a complete newbie when it comes to Tarot, so I'll be starting pretty much from scratch with either.

So, for a beginner, which is the best to read and work through first?

Tarot For Yourself, which seems to be more of a workbook for personal growth, or...

21 Ways, which seems to be more of a systematic method of learning about the cards.

Should I advance my personal growth through the cards first, or learn about the cards themselves before I learn about myself? Advice is appreciated. ;) I'm not looking for a clear-cut answer (since I, to quote the cliche, know all the answers are already within myself) but rather suggestions on the best manuever.

EDIT: Or, as a third option, would it be better to read 78 Degrees of Wisdom (by Rachel Pollack) first? I got it with the other two, and I believe it simply tells the traditional meaning of each card.

IndigoWonders

I really like 21 ways. There's a wonderful study group here on this topic that I love to read thru. I think it really does help you look at cards in many different lights.

Melvis

How about an answer of "Both"? ;) Maybe start with Tarot for Yourself as it is great for creating connections between yourself and your cards. Maybe do a few chapters of that, then a few of 21 Ways. You have been very perceptive about what the books focus on, too! You got it right, from my point of view. So that's why I think you start with T.f.Y. to create that connection, then get to know the cards better in 21 Ways. She does get more into the cards and spreads later in T.f.Y., too, so it's definitely worth the work.