Pricing guidelines?

HighPriestesss

Working on my fliers for this small local event I'll be reading at, and wanted to bounce what I have so far, and get some feedback from you. If you think, even as a newbie, I'm short-changing myself, please, tell me!!

Mini readings (15 min) $5.00
Celtic Cross spread (30 min) $10.00 (It won't even take 30 mins)

and by appt only, Astrology/Numerology/Tarot reading $20.00 (45 mins)

Whatcha think?? :confused:

Grizabella

Boy, are you gonna get a lot of posts on this one! LOL

I think you should price yourself according to how experienced you are and what's fair by that. If you're not someone with 30 years of experience, don't price yourself like you are, for one thing. You're certainly not doing that.

Putting out a tip jar will probably get you as much or more money than actual pricing, in my opinion, because people are so used to paying a dollar a minute for their readings that they expect to pay that much. That way, you know you're able to read for those who really need a reading but can't afford exorbitant prices and at the other end of the spectrum, you'll get those who will overpay by some, so it all averages out. This is purely my opinion, mind you. You'll find that most of the responses you get are of the dollar-a-minute variety. There are lots of ways to word "dollar a minute" on your flyers so it doesn't sound like an actual dollar a minute and won't drive customers off.

Even by my skinny opinion of what's right, though, I think your prices are too low unless you've never had any experience reading for the public at all.

Demon Goddess

I'm with Griz.

I started my pricing at $20 per mini reading (three cards) and $80 for a full reading and I am considering switching to a pay what you can afford price. But, then, I've been reading for nearly 30 years... so, make of that what you will.