Question about daily card draw

hitchhiker72

Hi, I've been reading the various threads in the past couple of weeks and am learning a great deal, but I haven't found one for my question; if it exists, I'm sorry for the repetition.

My question is about the daily card draw. I'm new to tarot and am using the daily draw to familiarise myself with the RWS deck. I've been pulling a daily card for myself for about 2 months- there are more spot on ones than less, and there are only a few I can't quite figure out.

Anyway, my question is, to what extent do you think the card pre-empts rather than reflects the energy of the day? Does getting a card set up one's expectations for the day, like a self-fulfilling prophecy? Sometimes when I get an active card, I'm kind of encouraged to do things, but when I get a "bad" card, I tend to look out for negative events in the day.

Any thoughts would be welcome. Thanks in advance!

hh

Cocobird55

I don't believe the future is set in concrete. When I get a 'good' card I'm pleased, and hope that it will manifest something good.

When I get a 'bad' card, I see it as a warning -- that if I don't do something to change my energy, something I don't like may happen.

BLFO

you card draws should have an intention. Are you using the card to predict for you what will happen. For instance the stuff you can't change. Or are you asking the cards to give you advice by warning you of a situation.

That makes a big difference. For instance, I got a 10 swords card. I had no idea what it mean, because that card terrifies me and is similar to the Death card, but more violently so. Therefore, i did a clarification spread on the card.

1. What does this card mean
2. What doesn't this card mean (the opposite meaning of the upright or reveral position, if you are using reversals)