Reading for others

mahjong

I have only ever done readings for myself ,so my cards have only ever been used for my questions.A friend has asked me to do a reading for her,she knows that I am still learning and rely heavily on books and this web site for meanings.What would be the best way to cleanse my cards?What is best way to approach a reading for my friend(the enquirer) when they are not present and have not shuffled the cards?I thought about taking out a significater;she's aTaurean so the Queen of Pentacles. She has given me three questions..1.will my husband and I move away? 2.will we stay at the shop?(they own a shop) 3.will we sell our house?
I kind of feel that all these questions are linked because if the cards indicate a move that means they would have had to sell their house and would no longer be at the shop.I thought about doing the Celtic Cross.Thought and advice would be appreciated.Thanks

seasong

Hi mahjong, I'm new here too. I've only done a few face to face readings, and I have a hard time reading for myself, so my friends call and give me questions so I can practice.

I usually just do a 3 or 5 card layout, and say something like What can the cards tell me for my friend Mary about moving?

I try to avoid yes/no questions, but I have done that too. Sometimes I just need a quick yes or no.

As for cleansing the cards, I put mine in the sun for a bit, or sage them.

Hope this helps.

MareSaturni

I think 'cleansing' your cards should be your last worry ;). I don't cleanse mine, but that'sme.

I suggest you do the reading with a short spread - three crads preferably, five cards if you are really daring! It's best a well done three card reading than a confusing celtic cross in which you can't make the cards connect.

The 3-cards spread could be the usual "past- present - future" or "body - mind - spirit".

A nice 5-cards spread is the Peladan, but don't use it if you feel more confident with a 3-cards one.