Reading non-traditional cards in a largely traditional deck

Richard Pickman

I'm fairly new at this, involved with Tarot for about a year, and am still trying to figure some things out. I get confused when I am looking at a deck where most of the cards are similar to the RWS cards, but then some of them are very different. Should you just totally throw the "traditional" image/meaning of those cards out the window, or keep them in mind when looking at the new/different version/interpretation?

Since the trumps are more standardized than the pips (so it seems to me), is there a difference in how you would answer this question when pertaining to trumps as opposed to pips?

If you would like an example of what I am talking about, I'm having trouble with the Empress in the Secret Tarot. She is indoors (in a castle or something similar); the setting is very austere, even cold. Certainly a far cry from the Empress in the RWS. Also the 5 of pentacles in that deck is very different, plus some others as well.

I know that this is not uncommon; I'm just not sure how to approach it.

Lilija

Well, there are different decks, for a reason. I think this is where intuition comes in. You have a working knowledge of the common, accepted symbolism of the card in general, it's position, etc etc, all the stuff that doesn't have to do with the picture, so that all comes into play. Then the intuition kicks in...study that picture well, especially so, if it's unfamiliar. Take in the symbolism and pictures your chosen deck offers you, and intuitively blend it with your working knowledge of that card, based on it's context.

I love reading with different decks, slightly untraditional ones, just because of that. Each new symbol, color, whatever, on a card just adds to my base of knowledge. Somehow, the few decks I have, blend in my head in a very harmonious manner, and I can mentally call upon the whole library, when reading.

Just my two pence :)

thorhammer