Reversed cards

koolchick

I know there aare quite a few threads on this which I have read through. I am quite new to tarot I know roughly what each card means on its own I am doing simple spreads like 3 card spread and the cross spread which uses 6 cards.

At the minute I am not using reversals I understand what a card means depends on where it is in a spread ect. I guess if a card is in a position that means things working against you, you read the more negative side of the card and if the position is things working for you, you read the positive side of the card.

My question is say for the out come of a situation which could be good or bad how do you know what part of the card to read, does it depend on the overall spread like if it seems to be a good spread read the outcome as good and if spread is bad read outcome as bad. What if half is good and half is bad then how you know what outcome is.

Also what is the positive sides to 9 and 10 of swords I can only find negative meanings other than 10 of swords means things can only get better which is not that good. thanks for any help.

Fulgour

hi koolchick

Here is how I think it may work...not using reversals,
the cards that do appear will then be the right ones.

Rather than reverse an upright, let the cards tell you
from an upright position ~ any 'reversals' are there.

As far as positive meanings for such cards as 9 & 10
of Swords ~ many traditions view them as positive!

I have a book by Sergius Golowin with good meanings
for these, at leat upright! (hahaha) Yes, his book has
reversed meanings too... Tarot is a funny place to be.

Lady Orchard

I used to see some cards as solely negative but realise now that isn't the case at all. There's a positive spin on every card. For 10 of swords, like you said, things will get better - you won't be defeated. There's a real strength in that one I think.