Same and Opposite; Positives and Negatives

Anyankah

I'm just beginning to learn the cards, and here are some ponderings I'm having.

Same and Opposite

In some contexts, such as advice, sometimes a card is interpreted as what it shows and sometimes as the opposite of what it shows.

Take the four of swords and the ten of wands. The four of swords is likely to be taken as a suggestion of rest and the ten of wands is likely to be taken as a suggestion to step back from tiring work, to rest. It doesn't quite make sense to me for two cards that show such different things to mean such similar things. So I would like to just take them to be what they represent, or rather some aspect thereof, in both cases.

Positive and Negative

It would be aesthetically pleasing, and make some things make more sense to me, if every card in the deck had both a positive and negative side. The ten of wands could have the good side of having accomplished a lot and of shouldering that burden, and the bad side of that burden being heavy. The four of wands has the good side of rest, and it could have a bad side... he does look dead... perhaps the bad side is that if you do nothing but rest you aren't really living. Of course the negative side of the ten of wands is much stronger; he does look like he's having trouble with his burden and about to bump into something. The negative side of the four of swords is rather subtle one that I made up myself. Perhaps the relevance is that if the cards were in a position that didn't specify whether it was good or bad, that would be the side that dominated, but if the position does tell us whether it's good or bad then we know what aspects of the card to look at.