The Hierophant and Knowledge Systems

Goldenhair

I pulled the Hierophant as my daily card for Sunday and, since it is my soul and personality card, spent some time analyzing the symbols. When I studied the two elephants, I realized one is an Asian/Indian elephant and the other is an African elephant. The other symbols all seem to fall into either cultural symbols or esoteric knowledge systems.

Elephants - Asian, Indian and African
The Goddess - Egyptian
The crook, his blessing, the dove - Christian
His outfit - Babylonian
Pentacles - Wiccan, Pagen
The Four Guardians, the bull - the zodiac
The nails - Kabbalah

Do you think Crowley was trying to imply the Hierophant has the spiritual knowledge of all these systems? How much does one need to know/realize before they become 'enlightened'?

Namaste

Goldenhair said:
Do you think Crowley was trying to imply the Hierophant has the spiritual knowledge of all these systems? How much does one need to know/realize before they become 'enlightened'?

Excuse me for jumping in, but I am now revisisting this deck for the first time in 15 years, and your comments about the Hierophant intrigued me.

I am inclined to agree with you. Since enlightenment can never be an intellectual achievement, but an experiential one, I think Crowley was trying to imply that a spiritual understanding of what connects all spiritual systems is vital to enlightenment.

It occurs to me also that India can be seen as one of the cradles of spirituality, while Africa is considered to be the cradle of human existence, if I'm not mistaken.

In Hinduism, the sacred white elephant Airavata is the mount of Indra the king of the gods. Elephants are also called removers of obstacles, an attribute of the Hindu elephant god, Ganesh. In Greco-Roman times elephants symbolized power tempered by prudence. Their longevity led to their assocation with wisdom.