"the unknown" as the key significator??

hieronymous

hi

i'm new to this forum. i've been studying tarot for a couple of years and still feel like a rank beginner!

did a reading the other night using an extended celtic cross spread. for the first time ever, "the unkown" [the blank card] came up in position one. this one has me scratching my head...

for those of you who use the blank card, how would you interpret this?

thanks!
-h.

AprilFool

hieronymous said:
...for the first time ever, "the unkown" [the blank card] came up in position one. this one has me scratching my head...
Hi, and welcome to AT!! :D

What deck are you using? That will help a bit as the more experienced folks begin to chime in to help! I'd be stumped by any blank card in ANY position in a spread! :|

Alta

I know the Robin Wood has a blank card but you don't list that one in your Profile. In her system, getting the blank card means "the readings stops at this point".

I take all extra cards out of the deck, they aren't tarot and so I don't use them.... precisely for this sort of confusion.

Alta

hieronymous

this was w/a standard rider-waite deck. most of the time, when the 'unknown' comes up, it makes sense; 'this is something we don't want you to know about right now!', or else sometimes [when i'm doing an extended spread and it comes up in a secondary position] to emphasize the primary card.

i don't take it out because i find it useful, and as i say, it usually seems to make sense when i get it. but this one has me a little confused.

some ideas i've had:
- the question itself is too important to be 'given away' by summarizing it w/a figure, and requires more thought on the part of the querent
- the question itself is complicated and far-reaching and therefore not directly representable in the best way w/another card
- the question is too vague, or it is ambiguous [maybe the querent asked 2 interrelated questions?]

canid

Alta said: