View Single Post
Tanga's Avatar
Tanga  Tanga is offline
Aspiring Mystical Crone
Join Date: 11 Nov 2014
Location: Heart of Londinium (London, UK)
Posts: 2,504

"Sun, Moon, Stars, Infinity
I am that of which I Seek

Lord, Lady, Sacred Androgyne
I am all that which I meet

Powered by the Seven Spheres
I grow in strength unseared

Spirits speak!
Lux Veritas Pax (OR) - Luce Verita e Pace

(*"Luce, Verita e Pace", if I'm in more of an Italian mood. This last line in Latin has recently been edited since an ATer gave a useful comment about the use of Latin )

1) "Sun moon..." Modified from a Sanskrit mantra "Ra Ma Da Sa, Sa, Se, So, Hung" - meaning "I am Infinity, I belong to and contain it". I find this mantra grounding.

2) "I am that..." From the Sanskrit mantra "Tattwam Asi" meaning "I am that which I seek:I become in practice all that I am in potential". This is empowerment and self blessing or purification.

3) "Lord, Lady,... I am all..."
Invoking my Deities.

4) "Powered by the Seven Spheres, I grow..."
This is an echo of my 7 directional construction of a magickal circle of protection (North, East, South, West, Above, Below and Within).

5) "Spirits Speak! Lux..."
Denoting the purpose of the magick - For light, truth and peace to be conveyed in a useful way to the querent via my higher self. (Using some Latin).

Ground, Empower, Purify, Invoke, Protect, and Work.
This is a pagan pattern of construction for a space to work magick (personally modified and shortened ofcourse - I'm Wiccan).

This came as inspiration to me after I had asked the same question you have just asked, and ruminated on the replies I recieved.

n.b. "Traditionally" - 'Protect' should come before 'Invoke' - however in my little chant here this order just sounds better and easier to remember.
Top   #4