Help! Spread needed!

spunch

Hi everybody. I'm rather new to Tarot but have definitelly decided to stop reading various books (which I have been doing for SO long) and to do some readings. I want to approach to them seriously and with respect. I also have a friend who is ready to help me, who has a question which has been bothering him for some time.

So here is what my problem seems to be. My friend is gay (that's not the problem) and I know we will be doing some readings on that. He is 34 years old and has been troubled by his sexuallity for quite some time. Main concerns are (for him) - should I step out of the closet? What about my parents? (He is concerned that the truth about him will 'kill' them). What impact will that have on my position at work? What will the future bring?

Now, what spread should I use and what kind of question should I ask the Tarot? Should I use some sort of alternative spread (what will happen if I come out, and what if I don't do that?) or some past-present-future spread?

Do you know some right spread for that and how would you formulate the question?

Many thanks!

Aerin

spunch, you may find Joan Bunning's site really useful in helping your friend to formulate a question etc.... The whole course is at http://www.learntarot.com.

For formulating a question, have a look at http://www.learntarot.com/less7.htm
which has some great advice, in particular on how to ask questions that empower the querent as against attempting to pass across responsibility to the cards. I think it is really important that you help your friend do this for themselves so they hone in on what they really want to know - not what someone else thinks they ought to know.