6 of Cups as a Career?

dc_newb9

This will be all over the place and probably a bit tl;dr. I'm giving away quite a few insecurities of mine, but I think they'll help you help me.

I'm in a challenging position in my life right now. I have absolutely no idea what career path to take, and I feel as if I'm building a dead-end around me by not just choosing a field, finishing school, and going on with it. Actually, part of the reason I started learning tarot was to figure out my possible career path.

Every time I do a spread on my future hypothetical career, I first (always pull this first in a spread, too) get the 6 of Cups.

I use the Thoth deck, which names Sun in Scorpio as 'Pleasure' which I could interpret as a "do what you like most" kind of thing, but I'm aware that the usual imagery is of someone giving a cup to someone else.

This baffles me, because the obvious interpretation is to "give" or be in a service/social service field...and it annoys me because I have no interest in "helping". OMG I sound terrible, I know, but I'm not good with people and doing anything noble in the US means you're going to be broke for the rest of your life.

So then I think, ok--the past. Either it's telling me to be a historian (no!) or it's telling me that I need to touch base with an interest from my childhood to get some clarity? Get over some part of my childhood? I don't know.

As a kid, literally the only thing I did was draw (and I did alright for a kid). It kept me occupied in what was otherwise a rough/uninteresting life. I stopped though when I got to my teens because of depression (and started writing instead...which I stopped after my teens because of another depression), and now I just don't have the same "eye" for art, and I've lost my hand-eye coordination entirely. I haven't remotely considered it as something to "do" with my life, and I still don't really want to.