identifying paintings in the LS Golden Botticelli

cardlady22

Are there any art books you recommend for figuring out which paintings are being used for the various cards? I'm seeing a few come up on searches, but have no idea which to look or ask for . . . and I can't buy every book out there!

Le Fanu

After I bought the Golden tarot of Klimt, I had this urge to get more familiar with the images and bought the cheapest, most basic but well-illustrated book on the market published by Taschen, who do these cheap art books "for the masses" but with excellent quality reproductions. I was already familiar with the work of Klimt as I studied art history and had always read about it, even things not directly related to my studies. I was surprised just how much of the deck was illustrated in this book, and it was fascinating to see it in its original context .

I don't have the Golden Botticelli, but every time I glance through scans I recognise quite a lot of the images. I think if you bought one of these basic books (Taschen are always a good start, Im sure your local bookshop has them, they're everywhere) you'd be surprised at just how many of the images are there.

Plus of course googling. But - as I said - the images are from his most familiar work in general so it shouldn't be too daunting a task!

cardlady22

Thank you, Le Fanu!

Just throwing these titles out in case anyone has them, or has seen them:
*The Complete Paintings of Botticelli (Penguin Classics of World Art) by Gabriele Mandel
*Sandro Botticelli 1444/45-1510 (Basic Art) by Barbara Deimling
*Alessandro Botticelli: 1444/45 - 1510 (Masters of Italian Art) by HF Ullmann

Ambrosia

Im studying this deck at the moment in the study groups and definately recommend studying the paintings they are based on.
When I first got my deck a few months ago our city library had several books on Botticelli's art so this is always an option.