Crystal Tarots by Elisabetta Trevisan

Dee Ell

The art on these is beautiful, but I'm wondering if anyone who owns the deck finds the images to be small? (It's annoying that so many decks with breathtaking art are printed on small cards and then the images are shrunk even more to accommodate a border around them)

http://www.aeclectic.net/tarot/cards/crystal-tarots/

Do you have any other opinions you'd like to share on the deck?

(I have another thread regarding out-of-print decks I love (here: http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=213075 ) but they're way too expensive and also more "out there" decks, so I'm looking again at some of the more traditionally-based decks I was attracted to that might be better for an absolute beginner (but fast learner) like myself... although looking at the reviews of this deck again, I see that people say it's *not* a good beginner deck... Why are all of the decks I'm drawn to so "out there"? :p (I'm also really drawn to "Roots of Asia" and "Via"))

rwcarter

The best beginner deck is the one you feel drawn too. :) If you're not drawn to the art, you're never going to use the deck. While I have an appreciation for the Rider Waite now, I would likely have never picked up tarot if that were the only deck available for me to use.

One reason folks are probably advising against the Crystal Tarots though is that the Minors don't adhere to the Rider Waite system, but the much more rarely used Eudes Picard system. So if you did use this as your first deck and then you went on to use a deck in the RWS school, you'd basically be back at ground zero having to unlearn everything you learned in using this deck.

Rodney

Aerin

I managed to get hold of the original (well OOP) Majors-only deck recently, where the images aren't chopped off. It's beautiful - but I looked for over ten years for it!

I wish LS would publish it again in that format. Maybe we could nag?