Birds underwater

BrightEye

Over the years I've had several dreams about birds living quite happily underwater, flying underwater, breathing etc., having their whole habitat in an element that is alien to them. I find the idea intriguing and I wonder if it carries meaning for me. If we think of water as symbolising emotions and birds as airborne creatures rising above restrictions and having a certain distance from everything, perhaps the idea behind this image is my desire to negotiate emotions with freedom and ease? (Something I'm not good at!)

Debra

I don't know, but oh what a lovely thought!

I remember an old book about the weather began, "We live in a sea of air."

violetdaisy

Fish have "wings" yeah? But breath through water and take what they need. Birds have "fins" yeah? But breath what we breathe and take what they need. Sea birds eat fish. If fish had feathered wings would they still be prey? Would feathered fish prey on sea birds? OR would they then be equal? It's an Alice thought. I quite like it. If your emotions and thoughts are at conflict, perhaps your birds do need to breathe water. It does speak still of thought over emotions a bit, but there is much more "equality"

I'd be a bird rather than a fish. And it would be lovely if my bird understood the depth that fish do, instead I fly high and far to escape instead of diving deep to discover.

....and that's the end of my Alice thinking.

Laura Borealis

I like that idea, of serene birds navigating the waters of your dreams with ease.

The symbolism of birds is wide and varied. Are they any particular kind of birds? Do they appear in certain situations? Or numbers? Like the magpies in the rhyme -

One for sorrow, two for mirth,
Three for a wedding, four for birth,
Five for silver, six for gold,
Seven for a secret never to be told

I give weight to a dreamer's own interpretation more than any other, though. And I like yours.

MissNine