Rune Stones or Decks?

Rhiannon

I've recently found a very nice rune deck (at least I like the artwork) http://www.wicce.com/powerunes.jpg I have never worked with runes before and I thought this might be a good way to introduce myself to them, since I'm already used to working with cards. Anyone have an opinion on this? Is it better to learn with stones or cards? I've also considered getting the Witches Runes.

Thanks for any input!
Rhiannon :)

Umbrae

Have been working with stones for awhile.

Runes are runes, be they carved on stone, wood, or bone.

Cards are cards.

I kinda dislike the concept of artwork in conjunction with runes. It is not what they are about.

Pick up a copy of Runecaster’s Handbook by Edred Thorsson (very basic primer) and Teutonic Magic by Kveldulf Gundarsson (Very good, should you decide Runes are right for you).

A word of caution: ANY book, deck, monograph, etc. that speaks of 25 runes (the blank rune is the key giveaway)…Stay away from…it is bogus…any book, deck, monograph, etc. that speaks of Celtic Runes, is bogus…stay away from.

(All Runestone sets come with 25 stones, just keep the blank as a spare...).

jade

i love the witches runes. i love the artwork and the info.

i also have beautiful blue rune stones that i love.

runes are wonderful to use and i recommend you getting some......whatever sort 'speaks' to you!

in light,
jade

Malachite

The 25th Rune rule is a little strict, I think.
Granted, the original volva seers didn't use a blank rune, but that doesn't mean you can't use it if you want to.
Personally, I do have a 25th with one of my sets, but as a rune added myself, not as a blank. ( strangely enough, the symbol I use on that rune, which has been my little icon for years, and was totally original in concept, turned up reversed in a runic font i found yesterday!...weird...!)