Beginner in Tarot

Gwyth

Hey, I'm very new to tarot and I find it amazing. I already ordered two decks online and I only just discovered this site last night. I'm going to go to the bookstore later to see what kind of selection they have there and buy a book that can give me a basic foundation in what tarot is all about. (suggestions definitely welcome!)

It seems to me that the standard deck is the Rider Waite deck and that most others are compared to it. Please correct me if I'm wrong! As a beginner, would it be best if I started out with the standard and then went on to variations?

I bought the Cosmic Tarot deck and the Gendron deck, which both had mixed reviews as far as if they can be used easily by beginners or not.

Thanks a lot. :}

faunabay

There is a thread here suggesting good books for beginners. check it out if you haven't already.

As for starting with the Rider Waite deck. Most people think it's a good idea. But the first deck I really was able to learn from was the Robin Wood. GREAT DECK! It is rider waite based so you can still use the books written about the Rider Wate deck. I don't even own a regular sized Waite deck. (gasp) I just have the smaller "purse-sized" one I bought when I decided I wanted to carry a deck with me.

I found it was easier for me to learn from a deck I really enjoyed and connected with personally. So I say - Go for the ones that jump out and grab you!!! :)

Thirteen

Quote:Gwyth (05 Oct, 2001 04:30):
It seems to me that the standard deck is the Rider Waite deck and that most others are compared to it. Please correct me if I'm wrong! As a beginner, would it be best if I started out with the standard and then went on to variations?

Quite right, actually. Something like 85-90% of the decks are based on RW, so it's good to use that as your training deck before you play with decks that have different interpetations--whether slight or great--or even more accurate ;)