Why runes are NOT as popular as tarots ?

sunstallion

Hi all,

I cannot find the answer to my question at all "why runes are not as popular as tarots ?" I mean most psychics dont use it to aid their readings. Even people who dont do psychics dont use it, but they use tarots instead. I wonder why ? why runes cannot get the attention like tarots do ?

psychic sue

I have found, with the runes, I get a short sharp message. I find the tarot fills in the gaps more. I suspect though, that the more you read with the runes, the more detail you can give. Also, I think, the pictures on the cards tend to draw me in - whereas there is only one symbol on the stone.

I use the runes as an add-on - an extra to reinforce the tarot reading.

Sue.

Sophie

Because I am still a beginner with the runes, I am trying hard not to compare them with Tarot. The runes have their own history, mythology, world-view, sensibility. They are an alphabet that are also a magic tool and a tool of divination - the bridge between preliterate and literate Europe and a living relic of the age of European shamans - something altogether more ancient and mysterious than the Tarot (as mysterious as the Tarot can be!).

That is both the appeal of runes - and the reason many people have trouble picking them up. To be used well, they demand that you recast yourself along that bridge in time, that you learn something of the shaman and the preliterate Norseman for whom the runic alphabet is not only a technological find, but also magic - the mark of the breath of god upon us, the password to a different consciousness. And then, that you bring it back that knowledge and use it here, now, today, a world away from the shamanic Norsemen.