Rider-Waite and the Beginner

rhainnonstar

I'm just starting to learn the tarot. Are there any particular books the are good for the beginner? I have the Rider-Waite deck. I've heard mixed things about "Pictorial Key to the Tarot" and that it's not the best book for a newbie. Are there any good ones that revolve mainly around the meaning of the cards and how they relate to one another? Thank you in advance for your help.

RubyRuby

This site has an excellent section on learning the meanings of the cards. (Up in the top right corner... Click learn)

The first website I found was Joan Bunnings Learn Tarot. www.learntarot.com The book is identical to the website, but it's easier to carry around :)

I've come across several other books, that were ok, but for, me they weren't as good.

doreen

Hi There,
I would highly recommend "THE TAROT REVEALED" BY PAUL FENTON SMITH
I always recommend this book to my students. It is based on the Rider Waite Tarot.
Best of Luck,
Doreen.

Little Baron

Sulis said:
'The Complete Tarot Reader' by Teresa Michelsen - excellent book.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/07...8115/ref=pd_bbs_1/102-7934166-2473736?ie=UTF8

This book will teach you how to read (by that I mean how to find your own meanings for the cards). With this book you'll be able to read with any deck.. It doesn't just give you a load of meanings to recite parrot fashion.

I will give a second recommendation to this one. If I remember rightly, it also has an interesting section on numbers (is that correct, Sulis?), so you have a grounding for a far wider selection of decks in the long run, should you want to start looking into the Marseille, Visconti or Ancient Italians. Numbers can assist your readings in a different way than just viewing the pictures. The combination of both ways of reading can be very effective and also help you to gain a greater understanding of the illustrations.

LB

Sulis

LittleBuddha said: