Runes...Runes...Runes

Rede Seeker

Is there a preferred Rune system and media?

There are other Futhark systems (eg 18 or 33 Runes).
There are cards, ceramic 'Rune-cookies', home-made carved or woodburned sets, etc.

I've worked with Runes for 10 years using different sized sets, but staying with the Elder Futhark, 24-Runes. The set I've been using for the past 6 years are stamped into copper-like circles the size of pennies but much thinner. The symbolism of tossing coins into the Well of Wyrd is very appealing.

My preferrred card set is the Silver Ravenwold/Nigel Jackson Witches Runes.

raeanne

Rede Seeker said:
Is there a preferred Rune system and media?

Preferred by whom? As far as this group is concerned, I think most people here believe you should use whatever system and media YOU prefer. If you like stones, use stones. If you enjoy working with a specific set of cards, use those cards. I think a lot of people start out with the elder futhark simply because there is more information on it than on the others. There certainly isn't any belief that one system is any 'better' than any other system. You might want to do a search on the topic of Runes. There have been some excellent disscussion on Runes on this board. Welcome to the board. Enjoy!

Fulgour

I've heard here that "homemade" sets rank highly,
and have created a few myself, but in a personal
sense it's also very exciting using a bought'n set.

It's easy to make a Dulcimer too, but it's nice to
have one that's come to you complete and new.

Rede Seeker

Follow-up

Thanks for the replies.

I am trying to find the 'flavor' of this List concerning Rune reading media not seeking advice on which to use. I have a 10 year collection of Rune sets and have evolved as a Reader with each set.

Umbrae

Rede Seeker said:
I have a 10 year collection of Rune sets and have evolved as a Reader with each set.
Therein lies the heart of Runes and their reader. Growth.