Information on The Complete Magician's Table

tabi

I'm not technically sure where to put this. I have seen this in the Llewellyn's New World catalog and was wondering if someone else can give me more information. From this site it seems to be more of a Crowley-ish and more Egyptain magickal aspect to it. Really I was wanting to know if it covers mostly Egyptain (and Thoth) ideas or does it cover a wider range of magick?

Please move if in the wrong place...

Thanks in advance,
Tabi

Scion

Oh no Tabi, a MUCH wider range of magic.

Skinner isn't a Crowley-based magician at all, from what I can tell. In fact most of his work involves a 17th century ceremonial magician named Dr. Thomas Rudd, and the continuous line of magical tradition from the Renaissance to the Enlightenment that was preserved and employed by alooseknit group of working magicians in England and abroad.

In this book, Skinner literally tries to accomplish something like Crowley did in 777 but without any of the overt bias. Skinner set out to create an updated occult resource. A very few of Skinner's attributions are idiosyncratic, but he is generous with the footnotes and invariably explains any leapos in logic. (With the exception of his Feng Shui tables... something I've been discussing elsewhere on AT.

The reason that Lashtal review seems Crowley focussed is because it is one of the most popular Crowley Forum/Blogs. The reviewer was just seeing Skinner's book through that lens. There's Golden Dawn material in here, but it's always identified. And there's a LOT of non-GD material as well.

It's a fabulous book. And something like it is long overdue.

Scion

mnemosyne7