Tips for reading with the Marseilles

franniee

FF join the reading circle. I did it last month and it was fun! I was very nervous about it since I am very inexperienced with this deck but it worked out. Also I bought a book on numerology and that was helpful. But you know most of the numerological references for the most part if you know Tarot... this just cements it more. :)

go for it... I have always found reading is the best way to learn.. :heart:

firefrost

I have:D My name's on the list. I've also warned them that I'm a complete novice...:)

le pendu

firefrost.

As mentioned before, I highly recommend just LOOKING at the cards, particularly the Noblet.

Try to forget every association you've made in the past to get beyond APPLYING meaning ON TOP of the images. Instead, look at the images themselves. Don't use elements. Don't use numerology. LOOK at the cards. Take the Knight of Swords for instance:

swords12.jpg

What kind of person is he? Does he look eager? Does he look nice? Smart? Witty? What is his body language saying? How does he relate to the horse he rides? Are they a good match? Is he moving? What story can you imagine him being a character in? Imagine describing him to someone who can't see the card, what would you say about him? Spending time with the cards in this sort of relationship, rather than forcing them to fit into preconceived meaning, I think is the key to loving the TdM.

Spend time with the Courts and Trumps, and get to know them in a relationship like that. Then try pairing two random cards. How do the cards relate to each other?

For instance, in a reading I had this pair come up:

batons13.jpg
09.jpg

What really struck me was that the yellow light on the ground on the Hermit is only in front of him, it doesn't cast behind him... but look how it seems to have entered into the Queen of Batons! That was a "magical" moment for me when I saw this relationship between the two cards.