Finding the "Positives" and the "Negatives"

piledrivefinger

I know someone posted about this at least once before, but I had trouble finding it using the search.

I know that a card is not ALL good or ALL bad, so it'd be interesting to take a "bad" card and draw some "good" out of it, and vice versa. For example, some of us may cringe when we see the Devil card, attributing it to "evil", "addiction", "trouble", but a positive spin might be that the Devil symbolizes an exciting, important person because he/she is ruled by hedonistic tendencies and mischief.

I'd just like to see everyone's thoughts in regards to this, as I'm still learning from my deck and it might help me and some other newbies to see things in a new light. It's a fun exercise, at any rate.

piledrivefinger

Or perhaps, the 6 of Wands, a card that generally means a victory. On the other hand, when the victory is won, what is there to look forward to?

Oddity

With the 6 of Wands, it's also possible to expand the thoughts beyond the victory itself.

Did the victory mean somebody else lost? How was the victory won – was it a dirty fight, did the winner let the ends justify the means? Was he/she selfish? Were other people hurt? Did people lose face, were they deliberately degraded? Is the winner gloating now? It's one thing to be proud and happy and enjoy the moment of victory, but after a while people start disliking a person who goes on and on bragging about it.

It takes grace to be a good winner.

Just my two cents. :)

star-lover

there are some cards i cant see any negative in at all, as they stand by themselves

2 of cups
3 of cups
star
3 of coins
world
aces
i could go on

gorgeousbutterfly

star-lover said:
there are some cards i cant see any negative in at all, as they stand by themselves

2 of cups
3 of cups
star
3 of coins
world
aces
i could go on

the 2 of cup negative could be that you are so focused on a person that you don't notice whats going around you.