5 Of Sword - Swastikas?

Kaiju

I'm pretty new to the Thoth deck and just the other night I was doing a reading for a friend, when the five of swords dropped. As I was scrutinizing it's imagery, I couldn't help but notice that there were two shapes flanking the five swords. To me they looked like swastikas.

I realize that swastikas actually have nothing in common with genocide or fascism and I'm pretty sure that Crowley knew this as well as the swastika has been traced back through history right up to the Sumerians, often times being a symbol of good luck, the cycle of life, the four elements, etc.

Am I just misinterpreting these shapes or is this what I'm seeing and they have some signifigance to the card?

Cassiopeia

hi kaiju,

just been looking at my five of swords, and spotted the swastika like smybols on this card. I hadnt noticed these before. The swords on this card form the shape of an upside down pentagram, and the pentagram would have the same meaning as the swastika...cycle of life, the four elements, protection, etc.

The upsidedown pentagram seems to mean different things to different people. To me, it means a regognition of the importance of darkness as well as light. I tend to read this card as necesery but painful struggle...this is the darkness we must go through to appreciate the light. So, the symbology for me would add to that meaning of a kind of "necesary passage" The positive side of the card for me is the potential for growth and wisdom it brings, if we can get through the struggle.

Just noticed right at the top of this card, under the number 5, is the symbol for women, anyone have any ideas on how this symbol impacts on the cards meaning?

Alobar

that is also the symbol for Venus... appropriate since this card is Venus in Aquarius.

Nevada