Card care and maintenance

Kiama

My Robin Wood deck can probably be classed as overused. I have been using in mostly exculsively for over a year now, and its been through alot. But now its started to show it.

The cards themselves are bending upwards vertically, so it makes it a bit difficult to shuffle them. This may've been caused by a certain person *Kiama throws a glance at Malachite ;p * who decided he would riffle my cards instead of lace them! I'm not sure though.

My question is, how can I stop this happening even further? How can I get them back to how they were?

Kiama

Jeanette

Kiama, I'm no expert, but I would think that once the damage is done, it can't be reversed if this is a deck you plan on still using. What I mean is, perhaps you could restore them using some kind of method antiques dealers, museums, and such would use, but it would be pointless if you'll still be handling them. If it's the corners coming apart in layers, maybe a tiny bit of glue, and then compress the card between heavy books and left overnight to dry. This would be time consuming and probably wouldn't last too long. You could just get a new replacement deck, and offer the used one to overly-energetic shuffling friends ! :)

Thirteen

Quote:Kiama (30 Jan, 2002 18:46):
My question is, how can I stop this happening even further? How can I get them back to how they were?

I agree with Jeanette. Luckily, this isn't a rare or obscure deck. If it was, then you'd really have a problem. But this deck can be "reincarnated" easily. Remember, the spirit of a really good deck never dies, it just moves into a new pack.

Lay the old one to rest with all due ceremony--bury, burn or incinerate it--but have the new one nearby, ready to crack open when you're done. In this way, you can reincarnate your faithful deck, restoring it to the way it was on the day you bought it.

Talisman

'Lo, Kiama,

Here's something from an early preface to Rachel Pollack's "Seventy Eight Degrees of Wisdom."