Classical VS Modern

GoldenGirl

I was just wondering what everyones thoughts were on how the tarot decks are evolving!! I am very new to this but when I look at, for example, the rider-waite deck and then I look at these more modern versions like the ninjinsky tarot(which contains beautiful artistry/imagery) I get a sense of artificialness(maybe wrong word choice) I could be being a tadclose-minded but I just don't get the same sense of history/importance/tradition when I see the modern decks!! I consider myself to be an artist and I'm usually all about the abstract/out of the norm but not when it comes to this..............why would that be? lol

MeeWah

The older decks are steeped in history & the energies of all which have contributed to their existence. Some of them have a basis in the Qabala; others have the strength of the archetypes or both to support them. Some of the newer decks share those qualities as well. Whatever the style preferred, whether the traditional/classical or modern, that a deck works for the reader is what makes it a valid tool.

EveAnna

Although I have the 1jj Swiss deck, I think a classic, I use my Original Rider Waite only. I seem to be more attracted to the traditional decks than the modern - also mostly Rider Waite clones like the Diamond, Morgan Greer and Palladini (all of which I hope to be getting in the near future :) ) But really its just a case of what draws you and there are some really beautiful modern decks out there. :)

Logiatrix

goldengirl,
i'm kind of leaning toward the classical style, too. i don't seem to ever "click' with modern decks, at least not for very long. if i acquire a new, modern-styled deck, i will "ooh and aah" over it for a little while, but then i find myself back to my traditional favorites.
my favorite reading deck is the morgan-greer, and i also enjoy the renaissance tarot by brian williams--his books on tarot's history are absolutely amazing. by the same token, he also created the "po-mo" tarot!