Critiquing Crappy Decks

Lady Eclipse

A couple of days ago, my friend Joel asked for my opinion of a tarot deck he's working on. He seems to think I'm an expert because I know a lot about tarot, created 2 1/2+ decks, and he values my opinion, which is why he asked for my help. He's creating the deck on his computer.

Yesterday, he dropped off a CD of some of his cards for me to take a look at them. There's no way to put this nicely so... I think it's awful. The cards are very poorly done. It looks like he just cropped some images and stuck them on without even bothering to blend. Some of the cards are so dark and distorted that it's very difficult to figure out what the image is. One card looks like a very bad rip off of another deck currently on the market. The best card out of the group was the one he said wasn't finished and even that had some problems. I think you get the idea.

He especially wants to know how I like his cards. He's told me he plans on submitting these atrocities to some publishers but he said he wants my thoughts on them first. The problem is, he's not the kind of person who is interested in constructive criticism. He can't handle it and becomes very angry and defensive. I know these cards are his "baby" and I respect that. I can give him some constructive criticism on how to make them look better but I know he will get angry. In all honesty, it's really difficult to find anything I like about his deck.

What is the best thing to do when someone asks you to critique their tarot deck, that's in progress, when you know the person isn't really interested in an honest opinion?

Joy to you,
Maralee

baba-prague

This is a really difficult one. It's easiest to just be dishonest and positive, but really that's not at all helpful (plus of course lying is awful to have to do).

If he can't take criticism I would be very cautious. Can you gently suggest he tries some different techniques - or looks at some other cards?