Developing tarot reading abilities

Julia

Hello,

I am new here on this board!

I recently decided that I want to develop my tarot reading abilities.

Although I am familiar with the arcana and that I read tarot in a very intuitive manner in the past I feel now a need to develop that reading ability further. I guess I am a beginner.

The American Tarot Association correspondence course seems well structured and interesting.

But I wanted to ask you guys your opinions about this course. Have any of you taken that course?

Another question is bugging me: do you think it is important that the arcanas you are using reflect accurately initiate symbols or no?

For example, although even well-known decks like the Rider-Waite have "mistakes" in the representation of its iniate symbols it is still more accurate than say the mythic tarot.

However, I would like to add that the mythic tarot is the one that I used in the past and it worked well.

Do you think there is an efficiency difference between the said "symbol-accurate" and the "less symbol-accurate"?

Thanks,

Julia

jmd

Quote:Julia (22 Nov, 2001 11:31):
I read tarot in a very intuitive manner in the past I feel now a need to develop that reading ability further.

The American Tarot Association correspondence course seems well structured and interesting

...Arcanas ... you are using reflect accurately initiate symbols or no?

the Rider-Waite have "mistakes" ... more accurate than say the mythic tarot.

There are two ways which people often begin to read: intuitively, or following a manual!

I would encourage both! with some qualificafions, for they both go hand in hand. All a manual is is someone's understanding communicated via the printed word. A course does the same, but is (hopefully!) more interactive and hence far more responsive to the needs and direction of its audience.