Different decks, different meanings?

Sol

HI everybody,

I have already posted this message in "tarot decks forum", but nobody answers!.
So, here I go again...
I have been studying and reading tarot for several years, although I started with the "Tarot of marseilles", I'm currently using the "Rider-deck".
I have read a lot of books about tarot interpretation (from english, spanish, australian and german authors ) and one of the most amazing things I've read is the theory of a german author, who says in his books that the Rider-deck should be interpretate in a different way than other tarot decks like Crowley, or Marseilles.
In fact, he means that every deck has his own, specific interpretation, based on the artwork of the cards and the symbols.

This is quite confusing!

In my opinion, tarot is about universal archetypes that you can find in every culture and every deck.

What do you think about it?

Do you read different decks in a different way?

Blessed be. Sol.

Thirteen

Ok, you may already know all this, but just in case you don't, here's the deal: The Marseilles is, of course, one of the oldest (if not THE oldest) Tarot deck in existence. *HOWEVER,* when the Golden Dawn guys decided to recreate the Tarot deck, they concluded that the Marseilles deck was inaccurate and incomplete. They felt that some of the older meanings (like old time goddess worship, the position of the High Priest) had been either lost or deliberately hidden for fear of Church censorship. They delved into the cards and their symbols and found a lot of connections to a wider and much older range of magical symbols (Egyptian, Greek, Qabala, Zodiac, etc.).