Here's what I know of the lenormand so far

Lil Red

This thread was split from Coffin Talk

Here's what I know of the lenormand so far:

1) There are a couple of traditions of lenormand, but it is best to stick to one
2) You have to frame your question well or else it will not make any sense.
3) It's like learning how to form sentences, so we're back in English class again :joke:
4) It's not like tarot cards and has a huge differences.
6) It is used for mundane purposes (I think)
7) Cheat notes are the playing cards, so if you know cartomancy then you are already ahead of us :p
8) Daily draws are the way to go so having a lenormand journal is preferable.
9) Combinations are important
10) Do not make your own definition or else you are not sticking to the tradition, but more of an oracle.

And that is what I know so far from speaking to other people and reading about it on blogs though I may be wrong. Oh well, I'm still learning. :D

Ryver

I have mixed feelings on that list, like number 10, 6, 1, and even 6 if 6 means mundane only.

For 10, and maybe I'm misunderstanding the phrase "make up your own definition" I think cards always speak to the reader so there will be times when your own journal will start to reveal new keywords to you for certain cards or combinations. Internet didn't exist when the tradition started so at some point people had to add to the tradition as they discovered by experience and possibly intuition mixed with wisdom which card/s indicate online activity.

And for 1, I'm not sure I am interpreting this one correctly either. I do agree (Thanks Rana George) that it is best to decide what cards says X to you and stick with that rather than trying to see it in multiple cards but I don't think I'd agree with necessarily sticking with someone else's preexisting system of keywords for every card just because they wrote it down before you.