* * *I&#39m finally gonna buy a deck but I need toknow more still

LianMorrison

I've never used tarot cards myself before, but I've always wanted to try them out and see if I can help people with them. Is there anything I should keep in mind while picking out a deck for myself? And are different decks used for a specific type of readings?

tigerlilly

Good for you. When you pick out a deck find one that "calls" to you or one that you really feel drawn to. Any deck is fine. They all work the same way they just have different artwork and some come with their own books. So Find one and dive in. If you have an open mind and try you will find it easy to learn.

Tigerlilly

Scorpion

Hi, LianMorrison!

As Tig recommends, you should find a deck "calls" to you. You have probably looked at the decks on this site already. You may have seen mention of tarot.com which seems to have less choice but you can see entire decks and enlarge individual cards by clicking on them.

There are recent threads on cards suitable for a learning pack and a lot of people seem to be in favour of Rider-Waite or the so-called "clones". It doesn't appeal to me (had it and given it away), but I can see where they're coming from in the sense that many explanatory books have been written using this deck and every card tells a story. And obviously there's a lot of RW fans out there who would be willing to point you in the right direction. In addition, you may have seen everybody raving about Thirteen's Tarot Basics posts (and I agree they're brilliant), which are also based on this - so you'd have that extra learning tool.

It may be worth bearing in mind what you respond to best - for me, it's colour but I also need some clues from the pictures, so the decks with "pips" for the Minor Arcana (ie 7 Swords/Coins etc and nothing else) don't appeal to me.