Im New At This Can Anyone Help??

audrea

Can anyone help me figure out how to read a normal deck of "playing cards"? How do i deal them and how do i read them once i have them dealt out? Whats the best layout to use? I am looking to buy a regular set of tarot cards in the near future, Can anyone recommend a good deck for beginners such as myself??? Thanks.

Stregaverde

For reading with playing cards, down further in these forums is the Non-Tarot area. Look in the Oracle Decks forum, it covers all kinds of non-tarot cartomancy, and there are some folks who are very active in there whom I'm sure can help you. :)

As far as a beginner deck, use the search engine and you'll find several extensive threads on the subject, with loads of great information. Off the cuff, though, I'd recommend the Hanson-Roberts, if you like the illustrations. Follows the Rider-Waite-Smith imagery closely (which is what most 'learning tarot' books use as a basis) but is a lot prettier.

Welcome to Aeclectic!

crystal cove

Welcome to Aeclectic!

Try:

www3.sympatico.ca/terrir/playing_card_meanings.html
or
www.talisman.net/tarot/regcard.html

As far as spreads and beginning tarot decks are concerned, that is largely a personal choice. Tastes in decks change, so just choose one that appeals to you now.

Silaria

When I'm talking to people interested in starting to learn the Tarot, I usually recommend the Hanson-Roberts or Robin Wood tarot.

The Hanson-Roberts deck is very similar to the Rider-Waite(-Smith) deck, but with, IMO, much nicer artwork. (The artwork is one of my favorate things about this deck.)

The Robin Wood deck is also similar to the Rider-Waite(-Smith) deck but the artwork has a more Pagan twist due to Ms. Wood's beliefs. As with the Hanson-Roberts deck, the artwork and coloring on this deck is OUTSTANDING.