Philip Pullmans 'His Dark Materials' Tarot

mazzy

I’m quite new to tarot, (and completly new to these boards, hi!) I’ve been interested in tarot for about three months now. I love the art and have been wanting to make my own deck for a while now.
I decided to make a deck based on Philip Pullmans ‘His Dark Materials’ books because, well I love them and I think it would make a very good deck I'd be able to understand.
I really wanted to make it alone, but if anyone here knows a lot about both tarot and has read all three HDM books I’d really like to hear what you think!!
I’m making it quite slowly, I have some pictures ready to scan, but a lot of the cards are undecided.

If it turns out anyone here has read the books and is interested, I’ll explain my reasons for each.

0 Fool- Lyra
1 Magician-Lord Asriel
2 High Priestess- Xaphania
3 Empress- Serafina Pekkala
4 Emperor – John Faa
5 Hierophant – Father MacPhail
6 Lovers – Lyra and Will
7 Chariot – Iorek Byrnison
8 Strength – Lyra and Iofur Raknison
9 Hermit - John Parry
10 Wheel – The Alethiometer
11 Justice – Will Parry
12 Hanged Man- Lee Scoresby
13 Death – Lyra getting in the boat to the land of the dead
14 Temperance – Mary Malone
15 Devil - Metatron
16 Tower – Lord Asriel ‘tearing’ open the sky to cittagazze
17 Star - Dust
18 moon – Mrs Coulter
19 Sun – Mulefa (may change)
20 Judgment- Harpies
21 World – The ‘Republic of Heaven’ (Lyra thinking of it)

The Court cards are changing constantly, but some that seem right are:

King of Wands- Lord Roke
Queen of Wands – Ruta Skadi
King of Cups- Farder Coram
Queen of Cups- Ma Costa
Page of Cups- Ama
King of Pentacles- Master of Jordan College
Queen of Pentacles- Dame Hannah

I am having the most trouble with choosing the pages and knights!

The Minor Arcana is hard to decide too, so I’m not posting my ideas for that yet. (changing too often) I’ve nearly finished the pic for the three of swords though (Lyra leaving Pan behind at the ‘land of the dead’).

Hedera